Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Hi everyone.  For a while now I have said I wanted to start a blog about healthier living, fitness, etc., but I have continuously procrastinated until today.  Finally, while I lay on my couch in pain and unable to swallow due to strep, I think now is best time to start writing. My name is Paul and I am a fitness coach in White Plains, NY with 10 years of experience in this field.  My life revolves around fitness.  Heck, my wife(we just made 6 months) was my first client ever.  Yes that was 10 years ago and a long story of friendship.  To reiterate, my life revolves around fitness, but I am far from perfect.

To live a healthy lifestyle, fitness is the third most important thing behind healthy eating.  It took my turning 30 to realize this and another 2 years to fix it.  My weight has fluctuated more than I’d care to admit.  Around my birthday, in 2013, I actually reached 195 lbs. which is a rather unhealthy weight for my size.  I managed to get down to 177 in time for the wedding, but then went back up to 189.  

My biggest problem is that I love to eat poorly.  Pizza is my primary trigger food.  I don’t know if there is a scientific basis for a trigger food or not, but in this context, a trigger food is when you are on a diet, you eat one food in particular, and your diet instantly disappears as you return to your old ways pre-diet; your weight increases and then you feel horrible because you put in all that work for so long, and your efforts are a waste.  Well this has happened to me many times over the years, and I know I am not the only one.

Well to rectify a problem, one must admit there is a problem and I did that late December 2013.  January 1st my wife and I began the Whole 30 program which is a bit of a more intense Paleo diet program.  It helped us eat better quality foods and really pay attention to what enters our bodies.  We have lost weight (so far I have dropped from 189 down to 174), but more importantly we just feel better in general.  And that’s the first most important thing to a healthy lifestyle.  Feel and be healthy.

Since February began, we have stuck to the regular Paleo diet.  By the way, I haven’t had pizza since mid or late December, even though there is a pizza shop right on the corner of my block.  It’s not Paleo, so I’m avoiding it.  I won’t lie to any of you, it feels damn near impossible to avoid something that provides me comfort and is just a 90 second walk away.  Avoiding my trigger an everyday struggle.  

As I said before, I am not perfect. I can go on and on telling you the horrible things I have done to my body from eating, but the point of this blog is to show everyone that with sheer determination,  your life can and will change.  What I write is not coming from the typical fitness coach that has controlled his eating and lifestyle from the beginning and will judge you unfairly for your roller coaster weight loss experience. I’ve been there, and it would be hypocritical for me to judge you for that.  

What I write is solely my expert opinion from my experience as a fitness coach, educational experience,  and experience in quelling my appetite.  This is my first blog ever and I intend to write no fewer than twice per week.  Please post questions and send me emails.  I will respond to everything and may write topics based on what you post.  Starting tomorrow I will post things ranging from workouts to anything else I can think of on health and fitness. I hope you enjoy reading it and chime in on the things you don’t agree with. Have a great day everyone! 

–PB Image

